Editorial Changes in the Famous Five Series

The books! Over seven hundred of them and still counting...
LizaMiller

Editorial Changes in the Famous Five Series

Post by LizaMiller »

Hi everyone,

I'm a researcher currently writing a thesis on changing gender depictions in children's books. One of my focuses is on how publishing companies have made editorial changes - or 'updates' - to classics as they've been released in new editions. If anyone has any information about when any such changes occurred in the Famous Five series - such as the deletion of words no longer perceived to be politically correct, be them expressly relating to gender or not - I'd be really grateful. And if you don't have the information yourself, but think you can point me in the direction of a person/website/journal who can, then that would be great too.

Thanks so much in advance,

Liza Miller
Anita Bensoussane
Forum Administrator
Favourite book/series: Adventure series, Six Cousins books, Six Bad Boys
Favourite character: Jack Trent, Fatty and Elizabeth Allen

Re: Editorial changes in the Famous Five series

Post by Anita Bensoussane »