The mathematical smoking goblin

Looking for a book or a story? Post details here and hopefully someone will be able to help.
guernseyclaire

The mathematical smoking goblin

Post by guernseyclaire »

Hello there, I wonder if anyone can tell me the name of the short story about a goblin who collects cigarette butts and has a wager with the mayor about how many cigarettes he can make from them? At the end the mayor eats his hat and there was a wonderful illustration of a Fat Controller look-a-like munching on his top hat!

It sounds like The Golliwog who Smoked but it definitely wasn't that story as the goblin picked the butts up from the street (he was a street sweeper by trade you see). Apologies if this has already been answered on the forum but I haven't seen it...
Anita Bensoussane
Forum Administrator
Favourite book/series: Adventure series, Six Cousins books, Six Bad Boys
Favourite character: Jack Trent, Fatty and Elizabeth Allen

Re: The mathematical smoking goblin

Post by Anita Bensoussane »

Welcome, guernseyclaire! Ah yes - I remember that story well. It's called 'An Old Puzzle Story' and I have it in Good Night Stories, Purnell (see link below), which has a picture of Mr. High-Hat eating his hat as you describe. The story can also be found in The Twelfth Holiday Book.

http://www.enidblytonsociety.co.uk/book ... ht+Stories" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I've just looked at my copy of Good Night Stories, which has an inscription at the front - "To Anita, Love Auntie Janet and Uncle Graham, Xmas '74." They bought me about half a dozen of those Enid Blyton Purnell Sunshine Library Books for Christmas that year and I can honestly say it's one of the best presents I've ever had. I bet my aunt and uncle didn't guess I'd still be reading them at the age of forty! :lol:
"Heyho for a starry night and a heathery bed!" - Jack, The Secret Island.

"There is no bond like the bond of having read and liked the same books."