1940s Children's Authors

Which other authors do you enjoy? Discuss them here.
Francis
Favourite book/series: Mountain of Adventure / Adventure and Famous Five
Favourite character: George and Timmy

1940s Children's Authors

Post by Francis »

I believe that the 1940s was a golden age for children's authors and their books. I am not an expert (of course!) but Enid produced most of her iconic series during this decade with some truly memorable books. Richmal Crompton wrote some excellent 'William' stories during the war and a new talent, Malcolm Saville, started his wonderful 'Lone Pine' series in the same period. Two older established authors hit new heights , Elinor Brent-Dyer - with her excellent examination of the effects of intolerance on her 'Chalet School' and Frank Richards learning at an advanced age to write his 'Greyfriars' tales in book form after the war finished. W. E. Johns wrote some of his best 'Biggles' books during this period and invented two new heroes, 'Gimlet' - a commando and quite radically a female flyer standing up against male attitudes - the indomitable 'Worrals' !

I am sure there are some I have missed and would love to read other people's comments!
Society Member
John Pickup
Favourite book/series: Barney mysteries
Favourite character: Snubby

Re: 1940s Children's Authors

Post by John Pickup »

I agree entirely, Francis. As well as Enid's work I am a huge fan of the Billy Bunter and Lone Pine series of books and own quite a few which I return to regularly. Biggles, I am sure, was a staple read for boys of our generation. I believe that the 40's and 50's produced some of the greatest children's adventure stories ever written.
Society Member
Francis

Post by Francis »